Higher Education Institutions

Higher education in Bulgaria is available in three types of institutions: specialised higher schools, colleges and universities.

Specialised higher schools offer specialist degrees in science, sports, defence and the  arts. College graduates get bachelor’s degrees in various fields including business and IT.  Universities offer Bachelor’s, Master’s and Doctor’s degrees.   

The country’s oldest higher education institution is Sofia University, established in 1888. Other universities include University of National and World Economy, Technical University, Veliko Tarnovo University, Plovdiv University, South-West University. In addition to these state-owned institutions, there are private ones, too, notably the pioneering American University in Bulgaria based in the town of Blagoevgrad and Sofia’ New Bulgarian University.